Challenging Marriage Vows

First off, this is not a How-To type of post. If some of you are disappointed then you need to rethink a few things in my opinion. Like, why you think you have to challenge someone’s marriage vows.

No, this post is about how for some odd reason, whenever I or my other friends tell someone who tried to hit us up that we are married, that person decides to push harder. They try to convince us to cheat- though the attempts are extremely half-hearted.

I find this annoying to the next level simply because I did not just tell you that I am married because I want you to try harder to get into my pants or try harder to get my number or whatever you are trying to get. I told you I am married because that is what I am and it’s one of the main reasons why I am rejecting your advances; the other main reason is that I am not interested.

Now, why don’t I just say I’m not interested? Well, because that doesn’t work half the time to steer people away. If you think it does, you are either extremely lucky to have been met with dudes who understand that you are uninterested and aren’t butt hurt by the concept OR you are a dude who hasn’t had to drive away persistent, thick-headed, thirsty people.

More often than not, telling someone I am married doesn’t work to turn them away. They will say things like, “Oh I bet I am better than your husband”. Or, “I bet I’m bigger” (as if I need anything bigger). Or, “it’s just one night. It doesn’t mean anything.”

*Cher from Cluless voice* And we’re expected to swoon? Ugh, as if!

I am not looking for someone to challenge my marriage vows. I made those sincerely. Yes, I also made them a little young but I was still sincere. I also take them seriously.

Look, once marriage is mentioned, that should be the cue to walk the other direction. Just my opinion.

Thanks for reading! Peace!

Published by

The Uncertain Adult Optimist

There is no manual on being an adult. There are many books on parenting and on being a spouse but I'm still slightly unsure about my roles in each. Here I blog my efforts, my uncertainties and my optimistic musings on adulthood, motherhood, wifehood and other general roles I may accumulate.

Leave a comment