Dealing with the Unexpected

This morning as I’m finishing up breakfast, my husband walks in after his morning workout looking a little more worn than usual. I ask him if he died in the workout this morning. He was quiet for a few moments before telling me that when he walked out of the gym, he saw his wallet on the ground by the car…empty of $200.

The first thing out of my mouth? “Time to eat.”

He’s showering first though.

I have found that I often react differently than people expect me to. Remembering how his head was hanging when he walked in, I realized that he expected me to react poorly to the news. Yes, it really sucks that we are now short $200 that was supposed to help with the gas and other miscellaneous stuff so that we didn’t have to touch what we have left in our account. But me freaking out isn’t going to make it magically reappear. 

Plus my husband is already going to be punishing himself for it. He’s going to be thinking about all the what ifs throughout the day. What if I had double checked to make sure my wallet was in the car/my pocket? How did it fall out of the car? What if I had double checked when I got into the gym? And so on.

Me? My thought process is more along the lines of, Who would just take the cash and not the whole wallet? Which would have doubly sucked if they had because my husband’s life is in that wallet. Now I could be stressing about how we’re going to make ends meet for the next week or so, and if it was me a year ago, I probably would be.

I have learned how to keep myself from spiraling whenever something unexpected happens that throws a wrench into my family life. Usually I start talking aloud to keep myself distracted long enough so that I can actually deal with the problem head-on rather than just stress about it for days. Then I start thinking, sometimes writing out, a solution. Kind of like a math equation where you solve for x.

Sometimes there’s no solution for a problem. Like recovering the money. That’s a ‘No Can’ situation. What I can do though is rebudget the double digit number we have left in our account and stretch it. Anything to make it work and survive.

Thanks for Reading! Peace!

Leave a Reply

